The David Coleman Senior Men’s Invitation Trophy

Senior Men’s Invitation Competition

Before the trophy was donated in 2005 the competition was known as The Seniors Invitation. Each member of the Senior Men’s section may invite a member of another club to play with them in a better ball Stableford competition. Their partner must be over the age of 60 years and hold a valid handicap from another golf club. This competition is normally played on a Friday in September. The trophy is “The Development of the Golf Ball” and was commonly referred to as “The Colemanballs”.

The Trophy was donated in 2005 by David Coleman who was Senior Captain in 2002. David was a senior lecturer in Manufacturing Systems at Portsmouth University and an honorary Fellow of the Institute of Quality Assurance. He always opened a speech with “can you all hear me” for which he expected the reply “Yes but I do not mind changing places with someone who cannot”. David left Corhampton Golf Club in 2006 to join Rowlands Castle Golf Club as he lived only a short distance from Rowlands Castle.
(Trophy Retired in 2019 as damaged beyond repair. Competition still played)

The David Coleman Trophy

David Coleman

2000Dennis Frost & N.Thomas (Waterlooville GC)
2001Bob Jones & S.Tutton (Fairthorne Manor GC)
2002Roger Chivers & Ray Oliver (Rowlands Castle GC)
2003Chris Garrod & Keith Limburn (Cams Hall GC)
2004John Richardson & F. Clay (Hockley GC)
2005Roger Chivers & Keith Welsh (Burley GC)
2006Doug Mitchell & Tom Webber (Chilworth GC)
2007Mike Bell & Ken Crookes (Alton GC)
2008Mike Webb & Graham Marks (Southsea GC)
2009Dave White & Gordon Rowell (Rose Bowl GC)
2010Norman Short & Peter Hallet (South Winchester GC)
2011Pete Langrish & Bill Branscombe (Southsea GC)
2012Alan Harnden & Ray Tutt (Waterlooville GC)
2013Norman Burt & David Searle (Stokes Bay & Gosport GC)
2014John Knight & Bill Francis (Stokes Bay & Gosport GC)
2015Mick Kearn & Derek Hayward (Wickham Park GC)
2016Mike Pack & John Cornish (Sonning GC)
2017Mike White & Rod Taylor (West Meon GC)
2018Bryan Fribbance & Phil Cross (Blackmore GC)
2019Rob Christie & Tony Glanville (Royal Winchester GC)
2020John Ellis & Steve Spurling (Rowlands Castle GC)
2021Martin Carter & Derek Fish (Hill Barn GC)
2022Steve Ward & Frances Sheath (South Winchester GC)
2023John Birch & David Windsor (Meon Valley GC)