The Hanson Trophy

Senior Men’s Captain’s Challenge Competition

This is the Senior Men’s challenge competition. Players select their own partners for a qualifying round of four ball better ball Stableford competition played off full handicap from the white tees. The tee times are drawn. The Senior captain and Senior vice captain play as a pair. Each member of the pair with the best score in the qualifier usually receive a prize such as a golf glove, donated by Rupert Hanson.

All pairs whose score is better than the score of the captain and vice captain go through to the Hanson Final which is usually played on the following Wednesday. It is a singles Medal play or Stableford round played off full handicap from the white tees.

The competition was changed in 2020 to a pairs play direct to the final.

The winners receive the Hanson Trophy.

Rupert Hanson was a member of the Club for many years and was Senior captain in 1985.

The Original Hanson Trophy
(used until 2014)

Hanson Trophy

1991D. Carmichael2011Kevin Walter
1992G. Corbett2012Roger Jones
1993A. Holland2013Richard Albery
1994D. Wellman2014Ken Gatrall
1995N. Taylor2015Bob Peacock
1996N. Taylor2016Richard Albery
1997D. Mitchell2017Roy Chequer
1998D. Mitchell2018Terry Houghton
1999L. Harris2019Bob Reeder
2000D. Frost2020Not Played (Covid-19)
2001R. Goode2021Colin Mottram & Mark Rogers
2002V. Light2022Barry Smith & Mark Rogers
2003D.Meadus2023Mike Coffin & Colin Beames
2004C. Thompson 2024
2005G. A. Piper 2025
2006 D. White 2026
2007M. Bell
2008D. Meadus
2009T. Honour
2010John Beardall